| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Dokkio Sidebar (from the makers of PBworks) is a Chrome extension that eliminates the need for endless browser tabs. You can search all your online stuff without any extra effort. And Sidebar was #1 on Product Hunt! Check out what people are saying by clicking here.

View
 

Corlaer College Nijkerk

Page history last edited by hvanwyk@... 7 years, 6 months ago

CORLAER COLLEGE

 

We are a group of 12 pupils from Corlaer College, Nijkerk, Gelderland. We've been to India for a Cultural Exchange of 12 days, and yes...to Rishikul Vidyapeeth in Sonepat, one of our Learning Cirlce schools.

 

 

 

 

We have learnt so much from this Exchange and therefore appreciate the fact that we are able to work with our Exchange school on this project.

 

 

 

Here are our introductions!

 

 

I am Rutger de Nooij and I’m fifteen years old. I live in Hooglanderveen, this is a small village near Amersfoort.

I live here with my parents, sister and twin brother. Outside school I play tennis and soccer.

I mostly play tennis in the weekends and i have soccer training on Wednesdays and a match on Saturday.

 

I’m in the third class of Corlaer College, my friends are also at Corlaer College.

They are in my class, but also in fourth class. I like being at school with my classmates. My favourite subjects are gymnastics and French. 

 

The first time that I heard “Children’s Rights” I thought of the Rights that Children’s have in India and the Netherlands and the differences between them. I also thought about the situation in the Netherlands and poor countries. I am worrying about the circle of the poor. For example: the farmers in poor countries like Namibia are not getting the wright prices for their products because of the duties of Europe. When their crops crosses de border, it becomes much more expensive. Their products become even more expensive then the crops in Europe. This is why people buy European crops and also why the African farmer’s and countries will not be rescued out of their poorness.       

 

Sometimes when I’m not happy at school because of a messed up test, I think about the people sitting next to the road in India which haven’t got the chance to educate themselves. I’m proud of the Netherlands that this is all organised. I hope that the children in India will have this also in the future.  

 

 

 

 

Hello,

My name is Hidde. I'm sixteen years old. I am in the fourth class. I live in Appel, this is a little village near to the school place: Nijkerk.

I like play soccer, ride bicycle as a sport, listen to music and watch movies. 

 

I think children rights are very important because I think that every child needs a home, family, love and protection. 

 

 

 

My name is Noa Wassink. I am 14 years old (almost 15!) and I’m from The Netherlands.

I live in a small city called Nijkerk. When I grow older, I want to be a film director.

I want to travel the world when I’m older and capture everything!

What I do for fun outside of school is handball. I have practice twice a week and a match once a week.

What I do for fun inside of school? Well… I guess laughing and talking with friends is what I do for fun.

What I worry about… I worry about the future actually. I think terrorism scares me the most.

We all know what is happening lately. You can’t prevent terrorism so I don’t think this is ever going to stop.

My first thoughts when I heard Children’s Rights? I thought about children who can’t go to school and poor people. I’m not always happy when I’m in school.

The only thing I do is saying that I’m tired and I want to go home, but when you think about it… I should be happy I can go to school.

Even though it’s not always fun.

 

 

 

 

My name is Marije, I’m fourteen years old and I live in the Netherlands. My hobby is playing the flute.

I like the idea of ‘Children Rights’, because I like to research how the rights of children work in different parts of the world.

They’re not the same rights in every part of the world.

Through this project, we also can keep contact with the children of our exchange-school in Rishikul, India.   

 

 

 

My name is Laura Stoffer. I'm 15 years old and I live in the Netherlands.

My hobbies are playing football and talking with friends.

I like the idea of children rights because we have to realize that not everyone is as priviledged as we are .

I would like to do research about the children rights of other countries. Not everyone has the same rights as we do.

I think its nice to do this because then we can stay in contact with the children in India.  

 

 

 

 

Hello,

I'm Jacco, I am 15 years old and I live in Appel. My hobbies are riding a mountainbike, eating and watching  TV. I attend school at Corlaer College.

For me, family and friends are very important. This picture of me is taken in India where I went 2 weeks ago, it was an awesome trip.

 

 

 

 

 

Hey! My name is Janet, fifteen years old, and I live in The Netherlands.

 

Since 2012, I study at Corlaer College. It is a really nice school with modern learning methods and nice teachers.

My favorite subjects are history, economics, French, and maths.

 

In my spare time, you can mostly find me in the kitchen;  I love cooking and baking.

I am obsessed with healthy food, music, reading, blues, retro, travelling and yoga. :-)

As you know this project is about childrens rights. I think it is an interesting project, because you look and learn about your own rights.

There are a lot of children in the world, and lots of them do not have the same rights as we do. So it is time to change that!

 

 

 

Well, good morning Sir good morning Ma’am, like the people in India would say.
Here a (short) introduction about myself (and I’m happy for you all, that you just can read it and don’t have to listen to the typical Dutch-English accent).

A message from Jeffrey here, well what shall I tell, uhm.. I’ll just write the typical cliché information and some extra things probably.

I’m a seventeen year old guy/boy/man/whatever you want, living in a small city called “Nijkerk” with more or less about 40.000 habitants,

in a cold, rainy but fantastic country called the Netherlands.  


Also was given the assignment to me, to tell something about my family. It’s a long and complicated story but I’ll keep it simple for you guys.

I just have a father, mother and two brothers which are 24 and 26 years old I think. The last one got a daughter a few weeks ago, so since a short time I’m a proud uncle of my little cousin.

And now it’s time for the next cliché themes. Friends. Just forget the friends, you’ll never meet them so it doesn’t make any sense, just remember Laura, also ‘member’ of this learning circle. She’s a fantastic person and I think I dare to call her my best friend. Uhm yea, next. I’m playing volleyball several times a week, but also love gymnastics, badminton, playing piano, travel,  tennis and other nonsense like knowing as much as possible about the world, political connections between countries and in countries themselves, wars and at least the different cultures which all exists all over the world.

If I understood everything which has been told me fine, I think I’ve to tell something about children rights.  The most important things (I think) children need is a safe house, education,  proper upbringing /raising and the freedom to create an own opinion.  Unfortunately there still are many places in the world where these targets aren’t reached at all yet.

What do you really hate? Also this is a question which has to be answered, and I didn’t need really long to think about it. I hate spiders and other insects, hypocrite people, men who say that women have less rights, are less and see them as a “belonging”; despicable and disgusting.  And last but not least, the thing that I’m hating the most, without a doubt: People who use religion as a reason to murder and threat others because they “think” they have to do the “right” thing.  I’m not religious myself at all, and of course I do respect other religions, but I hate it if people abuse and violate religion.

Well, now you all have heard the standard, normal, weird and unique things of my mind.

Greetings from the Netherlands!
Jeffrey van den Brink 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hello everybody,

 

My name is Bram and I am 15 years old. I like to play guitar and to hang out with friends. I am the left guy on the picture.

The first thing I thought about when I heard children's rights was child labour. I think child labour is one of the worst violations of the children's rights.

It is not fair when kids have to work twelve hours a day to just get enough money to be able to survive.

They won't have any opportunity to get a better life because they don't have the time to go to school and to get a well paying job. 

 

 

 

 

 

15243481909_3b18516863_o.jpg

 

 

Hello everybody,

My name is Laura Asmara van de Beek. I was born on the 22nd of March 1998, which makes me 16 years old.

I don’t have any brothers or sisters, so I live with my parents and my dog.

My best friends are Jeffrey and Maartje. I enjoy spending time with them a lot. I also like to hang out with my other friends.

We often see each other and we even go to concerts together.

I’m interested in art, music, film and poetry so I do consider myself creative.

When it comes to art, I particularly like post-impressionism and I also like modern art.

Some of my favourite artists are René Magritte, Karel Appel, van Gogh and Paul Klee.

I’m into classic rock music, but I also listen to indie and sometimes I even listen to classical music.

I sing as well and I often sing with Jeffrey, who is also in this learning circle.

I strongly dislike the following things: negativity, cold showers, people who drag on and on about stupid things,

people who abuse religion, spicy food, superficial people.

I think children’s rights are very important, especially in countries where a lot of children work,

for example in the textile industry, without having a chance to get educated.

This way they don’t have a hopeful future and that needs to change.

 

 

 

I'm Daan, I'm 15 years old and play basketball in my free time.

In the video you can see me dunking (so I am the last one in that orange t-shirt).

When I am not doing homework or playing basketball, I will be watching a film with my friends or just hanging out with them. 
When I think of children rights, I think of right to learn and right for a safe place to live.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hi my name is Marnix. I am 14 years old and live in the Netherlands.

My hobbies are doing sports, playing games and solve Rubik's cubes.

My favourite subjects on school are mathematics, biology and chemistry. I also like to hang with my friends and go to movies.

I like to travel and that is why i went to India.

 

 

Comments (5)

Natasha Cherednichenko said

at 2:18 pm on Mar 9, 2015

Dear participants,
thank you for the introductions. Nice to read that you are really motivated to participate in the project about children's rights

Bob Hofman said

at 5:31 pm on Mar 8, 2015

Thank you students and Ms. Heidi, great to read your students introductions!!
You must have had a great learning EDventure in India; and you can continue your learning as Rishikul Vidyapeeth school is also a member of the CR Circle
We would love to read some about yourself and ms. Rasha :-)
We will create 5 students accounts, so students can post, edit and comment them selves.

Hendrik Karsodikromo said

at 2:38 am on Mar 7, 2015

Welcome Corlaer College Nijkerk. Good introduction. We are from Anton Residaschool and work together with Expeditie Corlaer Suriname. It's fine to have you in the children rights learning circle

Natasha Cherednichenko said

at 10:09 am on Mar 6, 2015

Dear participants,
we are so curious to see/read introductions

hvanwyk@... said

at 7:50 pm on Mar 5, 2015

Stay posted...our introductions are on the way!

You don't have permission to comment on this page.